Back to All Events

Dal Niente @ Library of Congress: In Vain & George Lewis

Coolidge Auditorium
Jefferson Building of Library of Congress
Washington D.C.
Free but tickets required through Ticketmaster starting September 3!

Dal Niente presents the Washington, D.C. premiere of G. F. Haas’s In Vain, arguably the first musical masterpiece of the 21st century. Inspired in part by the composer’s disillusionment resulting from far-right political victories in Austria in 2000, Haas starkly juxtaposes opposing forces of light and darkness, activity and stasis. This culminating with dramatic waves of sound performed by the entire ensemble in complete darkness, a process which upends the expectations of musicians and listeners alike to create a truly unforgettable experience that the music is uniquely able to cause. Dal Niente is also pleased to continue its collaboration with iconic composer and trombonist George Lewis, who composed Assemblage for Ensemble Dal Niente in 2013.

George Lewis (b. 1952): Assemblage (2013) for piano, harp, percussion, violin, viola, cello, saxophone, clarinet and flute
George Lewis (b. 1952): new work for violin and piano (2014, World Premiere)
Georg Friedrich Haas (b. 1953): In Vain (2000) for 2 flutes, oboe, 2 clarinets, saxophone, bassoon, 2 horns, 2 trombones, 2 percussion, 1 harp, 1 accordion, 1 piano, 3 violins, 2 violas, 2 cellos, 1 bass