Back to All Events


  • Flatland Gallery 1709 Westheimer Road Houston, TX, 77098 United States (map)

Curated by Ruslana Lichtzier

The project was precipitated by, a website initiated in November
21st, 2016 that aims to compile a list of instructors who “advance a radical agenda in
lecture halls.” The Dangerous Professors project reads this website as symptomatic of
the deep and widespread forces which work to jeopardize civil, artistic and academic
freedom by calling out, shaming, and attempting to hurt those that it opposes.

Through an open invitation, The Dangerous Professors encourages artists-educators who the watch list could deem as dangerous for promoting a progressive or transgressive dialogue and cultural production, to self-identify and exhibit their work as an act of resistance. The exhibition and accompanying publication include the work of nearly one-hundred artist-educators.

The first iteration of the project opened at Triumph Gallery in Chicago, IL on May 13th,
2017 and featured over one hundred and fifty participants. This second staging places
emphasis on artists from the surrounding community of Houston and Texas at large.
The full list of participating artists and the website are forthcoming.

Earlier Event: April 28